Oklahoma ABLE Commission: Licensing & Certification Guide
Which Oklahoma ABLE license do you need? Compare the Employee, Event Bartender, Wholesaler Agent, Manufacturer Agent and Cider Wine Beer permits, with 2026 fees.
Jan 6
The ABLE Commission issues several different individual licenses, and picking the wrong one wastes both the fee and the wait. This guide compares each individual license type — who it is for, what it costs, and what you have to submit — so you apply once and correctly.
Looking for background on the agency itself? See
what the Oklahoma ABLE Commission is and what it regulates.
| License | Who it is for | Fee | Min. age |
| EMP — Alcoholic Beverage Employee | Anyone working in a licensed retail store, mixed beverage establishment, or public event | $30 + $3.50 | 16 / 18 / 21 (see below) |
| EVB — Event Bartender | Bartenders working private events | $50 + $3.50 | 21 |
| AGE — Wholesaler’s Agent | Individuals representing wine and spirits wholesalers | $55 + $3.50 | Not specified |
| MFA — Manufacturer’s Agent | Individuals representing manufacturers or nonresident sellers | $55 + $3.50 | Not specified |
| CWP — Cider Wine Beer Permit | Individuals making beverages for personal use | $0 | 21 |
Renewal fees match the application fees in every case above.
If you sell, serve, mix, or handle alcohol for an employer, this is your license. Three age thresholds apply:
16 to work in a grocery or convenience store,
18 for all other establishments, and
21 to serve spirits. Separately, anyone under 21 may not serve in a designated bar or lounge area.
No documents are required at application. Your training certificate is due
within 14 days of licensure, and it must come from a program on ABLE’s approved list. ABLE allows you to complete just one course from any approved provider.
Step-by-step:
the ABLE employee license application guide.
Built for bartenders working private events rather than a fixed licensed premises. It costs more than the EMP ($50 + $3.50), requires you to be 21, and is the one individual license that does require a document up front: a government-issued photo ID at application. Like the EMP, the training certificate is due within 14 days.
If you work regular shifts at a bar or restaurant, you want the EMP, not this.
These are sales and representation credentials, not service credentials. The Wholesaler’s Agent (AGE) covers individuals representing wine and spirits wholesalers; the Manufacturer’s Agent (MFA) covers those representing manufacturers or nonresident sellers. Both run $55 plus the $3.50 convenience fee, and neither requires documents at application.
Neither license lets you tend bar. If you represent a brand and also pick up serving shifts, you need the EMP as well.
A free permit for individuals 21 or older making beverages for personal use. There is no fee at application or renewal and no documents required. It is a homebrewing permit, not a commercial or employment credential.
All applications go through ABLE’s online portal at
aca-prod.accela.com/ABLE. You register an account, apply, upload any required documents, pay, track status in real time, and print the license once approved. Applications are not taken by mail or in person.
Whichever license you hold, watch the expiration date in the portal. Serving or selling with an expired ABLE license is a violation in its own right under 37A O.S. § 6-102, independent of anything else you did.
Everything above is an
individual license — it belongs to you and follows you between jobs. The establishment itself holds a separate business license (mixed beverage, retail spirits, retail beer or wine, caterer, bottle club, and so on). One does not substitute for the other: a fully licensed bar still cannot schedule an unlicensed server, and your EMP does not authorize anyone to operate a venue.
Applying for the venue side instead? See
how to get a liquor license in Oklahoma.
General information, not legal advice. Fees and requirements change — confirm with the ABLE Commission before applying. The Alcoholic Beverage Employee (EMP) license for regular work at a licensed establishment, or the Event Bartender (EVB) license if you bartend private events. You must be 21 to serve spirits or to hold an EVB.
EMP is $30 + $3.50, EVB is $50 + $3.50, Wholesaler’s Agent and Manufacturer’s Agent are $55 + $3.50 each, and the Cider Wine Beer Permit is free. Renewals cost the same as the original application.
To you. Individual licenses follow the person, so you keep yours when you change jobs. The establishment holds its own separate business license.
The EMP and EVB both require an approved training certificate within 14 days of licensure. The agent licenses and the Cider Wine Beer Permit list no document requirements.